top of page

Research While Abroad

Pōsōh,

I hope everyone is well. Today marks the last day of the McNair Summer Research Institute (SRI), and I would like to share my experience with this program throughout my summer studying Spanish in Costa Rica. I am fortunate to be studying at a school that allows me to explore all of my interests: Math, Spanish, and American Indian Studies. This summer I was set out to not only do my math research but also take strides in completing my Spanish minor. A requirement of my minor is to study abroad in a Spanish-speaking country for a minimum of 6 weeks. I am extremely grateful to say that after 11 weeks in Heredia, Costa Rica, I have returned to The States as a proficient Spanish speaker, a member of a Costa Rican family, and a math researcher. In this blog, you will read about my adventures in Costa Rica, my weekly research meetings with Dr. Beemer, and my new discoveries about time management.

 

Family

Studying abroad in Costa Rica will be a memory I cherish for the rest of my life. I visited so many beaches, volcanos, forests, and waterfalls on the weekends, and during the week days I took three classes and learned so much Spanish. I loved every single moment I was there, and I felt loved from the very beginning. My host family was by far my favorite part of the immersion. Every morning, I would step outside my bedroom door to the sound of a flicker coming from the stove, and my host mom asking how the sun rose for me: "Como almaneciste Maddie?" And every morning, I would respond, "muy bien" (really well). Our simple exchange, before I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth and reenter the kitchen to a plate of eggs, gallo pinto, and a freshly made smoothie, made me feel loved and cared for. Soon after I would begin eating, my host dad would enter with Luna, the familys dog, and give me a large hug before we would begin our mornings discussion on soccer, movies, or scary stories about ghosts. They were always so lively in their story telling, and patient in their listening to mine. Before I would leave the table, we would receive a brief visit from my host brother on his way out the door, listening to Sabrina Carpenter's "Please Please Please." These interactions always started my day with a smile, and I was sad to leave to walk to school or join my research meeting in my bedroom. I will always be so grateful to have ended up with such kind and caring host family.





 

Weekly Meetings

After leaving the breakfast table, 2 days a week, I would immediately join Dr. Beemer on Zoom for our weekly research meetings. We would begin by recapping my weekend trips, sharing my host family's story from the morning, and exploring what I had worked on independently during my time apart. Our weekly meetings were where we were able to accomplish the majority of our work. Technologies such as Zoom, Python, and Dropbox make it so convenient to work at a distance and share our ideas. The privilege to not have to choose between studying abroad or doing research over the summer has made me appreciative of the field of math. There were meetings Dr. Beemer and I had while I was in remote areas of Costa Rica on a trip with my friends, and because there are places with WiFi almost everywhere in Costa Rica, I was able to sneak away in the early hours of the morning to complete a meeting with Dr. Beemer. One of our most memorable meetings was when I was in Puerto Viejo, a city on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica. One minute we would be discussing a binary asymmetric channel, and the next my lights and WiFi would go out, repeatedly throughout the meeting. The daily uncertainties of whether the internet would be stable enough for us to meet added a layer of excitement to our research. I am extremely proud of what we were able to accomplish despite our obstacles.


 

Discovering Time

At first, it was really easy for us to schedule our meetings, but as time continued, I found it more and more challenging to arrange time to work on my research. Two accelerated courses at one time filled my schedule with essays, readings, and presentations. Many times, 2 of each in a single night. I quickly had to learn that procrastination is not an option. After classes each day, I would go to a coffee shop with my classmates, and we would all work on our respective assignments. When we agreed it was time for a break, we would talk, giggle, and sometimes dance. Often, when we finished the majority of our work, we would explore the city and meet strangers who would become our friends. The solidarity of my classmates and I made it much easier to get work done. With the 6 hours we spent in class each day, the 4 hours we spent doing homework, the 2 hours we spent exploring, and the 1 hour I would spend napping, I still had 3 hours left in my day for research, and 8 hours for sleep. Looking at the numbers written out, it seems daunting how much time I spent being productive, but honestly, during every portion of my day, I was having fun. My teachers turned my classes into games, my friends turned my homework into socializing, and Dr. Beemer turned researching into newfound confidence. I realized that by managing my time into organized blocks that didn't seem too similar, my brain constantly felt rewarded and energized. Through the process of organizing my needs, I discovered time to do my wants. I traveled nearly every weekend, spent hours with my friends each day, and still had time to relax and take a nap when I needed. Discovering time allowed me to get to know my host family, complete my research, and make friends, all while studying abroad in Costa Rica.

Wāewāenan


Comments


bottom of page